Coupe Rogers Final: What time does Rafael Nadal play against Daniil Medvedev in Montreal?

Top seed and defending champion Rafael Nadal advanced to the Rogers Cup final on Saturday when Gael Monfils withdrew (ankle) before their semifinal.

Rafa will face eighth-seeded Daniil Medvedev, a 6-1, 7-6(6) winner over Karen Khachanov, in the all-Russian first semifinal.

Date: August 11, 2019

Match time: Not before 4 PM local time / 4 PM EDT – New York / 9 PM BST – United Kingdom / 10 PM CEST – Spain, France, Germany, Italy / 6 AM AEST – Melbourne. To convert to your local time, use this website.

Getty Images

Rafa and Medvedev have never met, marking the second time this season a Masters 1000 final will be the first meeting between the two finalists (Monte-Carlo, Fognini v Lajovic).

Medvedev on playing Rafa:

It’s extra special. I played Novak and Roger a few times. It’s different. … There is some extra pressure.

I’m playing very well right now. I believe if I am able to play like this, it’s not going to be easy for Rafa. It’s going to be a big battle.

Should Rafa beat Russian Daniil Medvedev in the Montreal final on Sunday, the World No. 2 would win his 35th Masters 1000 crown, extending his all-time lead.

Medvedev, who made last week’s final in Washington, is 1-6 all-time against the Big 3, with his only victory coming over Djokovic at Monte Carlo back in April.

Our champ is seeking his fifth trophy at the ATP Masters 1000 event and third of 2019, following title runs in Rome and Roland Garros.

By making it to the final of the Canadian Open, Rafa is also assured of retaining his world number two spot when the updated ATP rankings are released on Monday.

GOOD LUCK & VAMOS RAFA!

Source: ATP World Tour

Advertisements